Food

Butternut Squash and Spinach Lasagna Rolls

Butternut Squash and Spinach Lasagna RollsThis recipe came from one of my favorite bloggers, Skinnytaste.  She blogs amazingly good, healthy food.  This one is no exception.  I’m not usually a lasagna/pasta girl (even though I’m Italian).  However, these lasagna rolls are amazing!  It probably helps that there is no red sauce anywhere in this dish.

The preparation for the dish is a little tedious; however, it is well worth it.  You have to make the butternut squash sauce (pot then blender), boil the noodles (pot two), filling (bowl one).  Then you put it all in a pan (this makes dish number five) and put it in the oven.  Luckily I have an amazing better half that does all my dishes (with minimal complaining because she really likes this recipe too).

I do this a little different than the recipe in that I used a whole wheat lasagna noodle and wilted fresh spinach instead of using frozen spinach.  I prefer whole wheat noodles and like the extra nutrition I get out of my noodle.  Also, I prefer not to use frozen vegetables if I can help it.  This is only because I usually end up with a runny product because of the extra water.

Ultimately, this is one of my favorite fall dishes.  I will usually prep this meal on Sunday and heat it up so we can eat it during the week.  It’s a fantastic make-ahead meal.  Full of fantastic flavor, this recipe is hard to beat.  And perfect for the beginning of fall!!

Leave a Reply

