Personal

I Finally Exercised

…and it felt good.

Last week, I found out that I was selected for a promotion at work, which would normally be super exciting; however, it means that my mentor is retiring.  I have been in this weird, numb, flat emotional state as I try to process this information and wrap my head around what the next year is going to bring.  There are a lot of feelings wrapped up in this that I will probably process more on my blog as time goes on (and more people know what is going to happen).

Anyway, I have felt very lost and overwhelmed.  When I feel this way, I know that I need structure.  So, this weekend, I got my shit together.  Here are the things I know I need:

  1. An organized, prepared, meal plan so I can eat successfully throughout the week.
  2. A routine exercise plan, so I am exercising every day.
  3. Time to do my extra continuing education credits I need
  4. Time to hang out with my family
  5. Time for myself (to read/blog/be)

Keeping all of this in mind….here is what I am going to do…

  1. Wake up at 5am in order to work out at 5:30am
  2. Create a meal plan/shop on Friday or Saturday (depending on what is going on that week) and prepare my meals on Sunday for the week.
  3. Block out 8pm-9pm to do my continuing education credits.  This gives me time when I get home to eat and unwind with my family.
  4. From 9pm-10pm is ME time.  This is when I will read or blog (or whatever)
  5. Go to bed at 10pm.

I even told my spouse about the plan so I have an accountability partner.  I had the plan in place, I was all excited to go, and (of course, like always) I didn’t wake up at 5 and chose to sleep in.  Now, I know you are wondering why the name of this post is “I Finally Exercised.”  Well, because I was not going to let my poor decision stop me from achieving my goals.  So, I worked out this evening.  That’s right…day 1 of Jillian’s Body Revolution DOWN.  I have also prepared breakfast smoothies and made my lunch for tomorrow.

While I didn’t get my continuing education class started like I wanted, I feel accomplished.  I’m hoping to take this feeling into tomorrow and start fresh.

It takes 30 days to develop a habit.  Here’s to a day (finally) down.

Leave a Reply

