Workout

Focus T25 Gamma

My birthday was at the end of September, and my wonderful other half bought me gamma.  Now, my workout buddy and I can continue the Focus T25 awesomeness (because we truly believe it is awesome)!  I was so excited to get the next program!!

 

 

 

gamma

With the regular gamma package, you get the 4 DVDs (which are reviewed below), a pure gamma calendar, and a hybrid gamma calendar.  The pure gamma calendar is a 4 week schedule of only gamma workouts.  The awesome part of this calendar? NO DOUBLE DIP FRIDAYS!!!  I cannot tell you how exciting that is!!  The hybrid calendar is a schedule of mostly gamma workouts with some alpha and beta mixed in.  This does bring back double dip Friday, but it’s probably going to get you really ripped as well.

I have only completed the first week of pure gamma.  Holy moly do these give you a workout.  Gamma focuses on strength, and strength it is.  My upper body was so sore, which was good news for my thighs I guess.  What I am not sure if I like or not is the constant pounding of the same muscles.  When we did back to back upper body workouts, I noticed by biceps and shoulders really hated me.  Only the results will tell though.  The other thing about this workout?  Be prepared for burpees.  LOTS AND LOTS of burpees.   They are weighted, sometimes you do things on the floor (think push up jacks, pike ups, in and out abs), but the thing they have in common is they are rough, and they are not going away.  Here is a review of all of the DVDs

Rip’t Up: This workout focuses primarily on the upper body.  Lots of weights, lots of burpees.  It definitely does not miss a muscle.  There are a few cardio things, but primarily you are working with weights or body weight.  Great upper body workout that does not skimp out on the sweat!!

Extreme Circuit: The package says the weights never leave your hands.  This is true.  Even the cardio intervals are weighted, which is a fun change.  The weight do leave your hand if you are doing something in a plank position (except those weighted burpees).  You can definitely tell the focus of this is strength.  The burn is felt.

The Pyramid: This is just as it sounds, you do a move, then you do it twice, then you do it three times and so on until the next move.  Normally you get up to 7 or 8 reps at a time, which adds up to a lot of times you do the move itself.  This is a pretty interesting (and tiring) way to do the workout.  It also gives you a little (and I mean a little) bit of rest between the moves.

Speed 3.0: I didn’t think it could get any faster than speed 2.0, but it does.  Oh my goodness….not to mention the amount of burpees.  This one is set up like speed 2.0 (two different sets with three levels each…then you combine both sets).  This was the workout we did twice this week (Monday and Friday), and I could already tell a difference between the workouts.  I know part of the difference was because I knew what I was doing, but part of it was I just felt stronger and could push harder.  I was wearing my bodymedia during this workout and burned over 300 calories in 25 minutes.  It’s pretty amazing!!

Overall, I am super excited to see the results of gamma.  My workout buddy and I are alpha awesome, went from beta babies to beta babes, and now we are getting gamma gorgeous!!  It’s going to be epic!!

Have y’all tried gamma?  What do you think?

Leave a comment